Tauranga voting starts in

2022 Hamilton West by-election By-election timetable

Check the timetable below for the key dates in the Hamilton West by-election, including when you needed to enrol by and when you could vote.

Thursday 20 October Hamilton West electorate by-election dates formally announced
Thursday 20 October Regulated period for election expenses starts day after notice of vacancy published
Wednesday 2 November Writ Day
Governor General issues writ directing the Electoral Commission to hold the Hamilton West by-election
Electoral Rolls close for printing
Voters enrolled after this date cast a special declaration vote
Tuesday 8 November, noon Nominations close for candidates in the Hamilton West by-election
Wednesday 9 November, 4pm target Hamilton West by-election candidates announced by the Electoral Commission
Ballot paper printing starts
Wednesday 23 November Overseas voting starts
Monday 28 November Advance voting starts
Friday 9 December   All political advertising ceases and election signs taken down by midnight
Last day for overseas voters to enrol
Saturday 10 December Election day for Hamilton West by-election
Last day for voters in New Zealand to enrol
Voting places open from 9am to 7pm
Saturday 10 December Preliminary Results progressively available from 7pm on www.electionresults.govt.nz.
Targets for release are:
- by 9pm results from 50% of voting places
- by 10.30pm results from 95% of voting places
These are targets not guarantees.
Wednesday 21 December Official Results declared (including special declaration and overseas votes)
Monday 16 January Deadline for applications for judicial recount
Tuesday 17 January Return of Writ by Electoral Commission naming successful candidate (presuming no recount)
Wednesday 12 April Deadline for Returns of Candidate Election Expenses and Donations to Electoral Commission