Tauranga voting starts in

About the 2023 General Election

The Electoral Commission has confirmed the timetable for the 2023 General Election following the Prime Minister’s announcement of the election date.

The 2023 General Election will be held on Saturday 14 October 2023. The key dates for the election are set out in the table below. 

Make sure you’re enrolled and ready to vote. You can enrol, check or update your details online here: vote.nz

2023 General Election timetable

Thursday 19 January

Prime Minister announces date for 2023 General Election 

Friday 14 July

Regulated period for election advertising expenses begins

Friday 8 September

Dissolution of Parliament

Sunday 10 September

Writ Day - the Governor General issues formal direction to the Electoral Commission to hold the election 

Noon, Friday 15 September

Nominations close for candidates

Wednesday 27 September

Overseas voting starts

Monday 2 October

Advance voting starts

Friday 13 October

Advance voting ends

Friday 13 October

Regulated period ends. All election advertising must end. Signs must be taken down by midnight. 

Saturday 14 October

Election day. Voting places open from 9.00am to 7.00pm
Election night. Preliminary election results released progressively from 7.00pm on www.electionresults.govt.nz

Friday 3 November

Official results for the 2023 General Election declared

Thursday 9 November

Last day for the return of the writ

 The timetable for the election is determined in accordance with the Electoral Act 1993.